Day 3 & 4: Burgos – Carrion de los Condes

A 44km walk to Burgos, visiting the magnificent cathedral and then entering the meseta and ending day 4 with a nice dinner. Day 3 and 4 on my Camino were quite eventful!

Wow, it’s already my 5th day and I am in the midst of the Spanish meseta now. Today I reached Tordesillos de los Templarios. And the hostel here even has internet. No possibility to upload photos though.
But enough to give you a little update on my Camino.
edit May 22, Astorga: Photos uploaded

The 44km walk
After having left Pepe’s house in Espinosa del Camino on day 3, I first walked 32 km to Orbaneja de Rìpicio and got a room in a pension because as I had to find out there was no pilgrim’s hostel there. Actually that room was quite expensive. Anyway, I took it, put in my luggage and went searching the next restaurant. As there was no shop around, I would have to get my water from there.

Some impressions of the way to Orbaneja de Riopico:






I found the bar in Orbaneja quickly but unfortunately the owner had just gone to the doctor. So the only restaurant around was closed. Ok…I decided to wait and another Spanish pilgrim joined me. After waiting for 3 hours I had given up on the possibility that the owner would ever come back and Javier (that’s the name of the Spanish pilgrim) decided to walk on to Burgos. He asked me if I wanted to join – and I accepted. I mean…you have to be crazy sometimes, right??

I was a bit worried about the possibility of the hostels being closed upon arrival but Javier was so sure arriving late would be no problem that I decided to join him in this believe. Well anyway…sometimes we just need a little bit of faith, right?

So we set off at 8 pm and were in Burgos at around 10.35pm, just 5 minutes after the hostels had closed their doors. The barista from closeby just shrugged and meant we were late and he couldn’t do anything. Therefore Miya was now really facing a night out in the open…

But Javier wouldn’t be Javier, if he couldn’t turn things around! He called the pilgrim’s hostel and the nice hospitalera opened the door for us and let us in. Phew…saved. Sleeping outside after 44km of walk and as a woman wasn’t really what I was looking for here on the camino. Anyway, I might add a few photos from day 3 soon.

Cheating slightly – winning time
The next day I just had a stroll around Burgos and then went to the bus station. Doing the whole camino in the time I have simply isn’t possible, so I had decided to leave out parts of the meseta. Means: I took the bus from Burgos to Carrion de los Condes. No way I’d leave out the whole meseta!

But before I go on writing about the meseta part of my Camino, I leave you with some really nice photos of Burgos and its great cathedral. I really liked that city and guess it would be interesting to stay there more than just one or two days:








I arrived in Carrion in the early afternoon and made a stroll through the city as I always do upon arrival. There really is a difference between Burgos and there. When you enter the meseta, you also enter another world.



I ended the day with a pilgrim from France and one from Belgium. I met Anne-marie in a shop and she was really happy to find out that I speak French. The majority of the pilgrims here are German or Spanish. And there are barely people from France, Belgium or Québec here. So she asked me if we could have dinner together and I had my first French evening here.

About Miriam

I am a traveller. Not in the fast sense. I am travelling on foot, as a pilgrim. And I love writing and playing music. Since I found back to singing and writing while walking the Way of St. James in Spain, I started mingling the two. Means I am walking with my little guitalele and playing whenever the situation seems right for it :-)
This entry was posted in Camino 2012 and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 3 & 4: Burgos – Carrion de los Condes

  1. Carlos says:

    Reading your blog makes me jealous!, sounds great. have a great time. 🙂 , Carlos [Madrid]

Leave a Reply

