Day 5 – Meseta to Terradillos

On day 5 I left Carrion at 6pm because I was going to walk 18.5km through the meseta. There it is usually recommended to set off really early and with enough water and food as it can get very hot later in the day. The meseta is very even – no hills and barely teres around.

The Meseta walk
While the guide was writing about a similarity to desert, I was a bit disapointed because in spring everything is green there. Anyway, the walk had something special and you can see enormeously wide.




A few hours after having started I came across a “bar” in the middle of the meseta. Of course I used this opportunity to take a cup of coffee.

After a few more kilometers I finally reached Calzadilla de la Cueza – and met Ilse again in the bar of this village. That’s fun! You always meet the people again and again.


I walked until Terradillos de los Templarios today and was happy to arrive, because my feet started to hurt. After a 30km walk they are always sore. I had good luck because I got the last bed in the albergue Jacques de Molay. Phew! When I came into the room another pilgrim meant to me he was already sorry for me for not getting any bed. I spent the evening with him, John, and Ilse, who as I found out had walked to that same place 😉

I leave you with a pic of quite another tipe of a wall in Ledigos. People build houses differently in the meseta!

About Miriam

I am a traveller. Not in the fast sense. I am travelling on foot, as a pilgrim. And I love writing and playing music. Since I found back to singing and writing while walking the Way of St. James in Spain, I started mingling the two. Means I am walking with my little guitalele and playing whenever the situation seems right for it :-)
This entry was posted in Camino 2012 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

