Day 7 – Freezing in León

18 kilometers on an uneven road with hurting feet and no possibility to rest – that’s about the summary of day 7. I was suffering like hell and felt as exhausted like never before. Never before had I been so happy to finally reach my destination of the day...

On day 7 I set off from Calzadilla together with John from California. It was still raining from time to time and really cold. This day I felt really exhausted and my ankles still hurt like hell, so I was walking rather slow. As John was suffering from problems with his achilles, we were kind of both having a hard day.

When you are in pains and exhausted, the kilometers seem much longer than usual. Therefore the 18 kilometers to the next village seemed endless…We now walked along the old roman street. What sounds interesting was quite a strain to the feet though.We arrived at the next village very exhausted and were happy to find the local bar to take some breakfast and something to drink. Of course we met several other pilgrims we knew from before. One of them was a Swiss guy I had met when I took breakfast in the bar one day before. The bar we now reached was really cool. It had something like a Cuban style and the waiter absolutely fit in there!


We spontaneously decided to only walk to Mansilla de las Mulas and to take a Taxi from there to León.


The reason simply is that the last 20 kilometers are really ugly and without exception along the highway. On the way to León we saw Ilse walking over a bridge!

As the weather was really really cold and we were so exhausted, we decided to take a pension in León and only set foot out of it to go and have dinner, buy medecine for the feet and for having some dulce and chocolate. So the day in León turned out to be our relaxing day. On the Camino, every 7th to 10th day should be for relaxing, so this just perfecly fit in. No fotos from León for that reason, except for Miya having dulce and chocolate 😉

About Miriam

I am a traveller. Not in the fast sense. I am travelling on foot, as a pilgrim. And I love writing and playing music. Since I found back to singing and writing while walking the Way of St. James in Spain, I started mingling the two. Means I am walking with my little guitalele and playing whenever the situation seems right for it :-)
This entry was posted in Camino 2012 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

