Day 9 – getting to Astorga like flying

This day I fortunately left the outskirts of León FOREVER! After leaving Villadangos, I found myself in an increasingly nice landscape. No excessive walking along the main roads but through nature instead.

I passed through Hospital de Orbigo, a lovely little village and decided to take the long road to Astorga. According to my guide less people were walking this way and this sounded great for me, as there are many more pilgrims around since León. Many people just walk the part from there to Santiago.



Unfortunately that guide was so wrong. Since the film “the way” it has obviously become handy to book a group travel from León to Santiago, where your backpack is transported by bus and you simply wear some water to the next stop in your daypack. This meant there were whole groups of people walking like herds of cattle in front of me. Luckily I felt great that day. The two days of relaxation had been great and now walking felt like flying! So I simply overtook them.

But how annoyed I was! For me it seemed unacceptable that the Camino is used as just another form of group travel destination. It simply lies so far from its real meaning.

I soon got over it though because the landscape was now really nice.




I got a bed in the albergue municipal, which resembles an ancient monastery and has 165 beds over several floors. This actually was one of my favourite albergues. Its clean, has a courtyard, terrace, kitchen, internet and possibilities to do the washing. On top it has quite a cool atmosphere.


I ended the day as always now on the camino: Taking a shower, then a footbath, creaming the feet (an absolute must here…) and finally having dinner after a great deal of hanging out.

About Miriam

I am a traveller. Not in the fast sense. I am travelling on foot, as a pilgrim. And I love writing and playing music. Since I found back to singing and writing while walking the Way of St. James in Spain, I started mingling the two. Means I am walking with my little guitalele and playing whenever the situation seems right for it :-)
This entry was posted in Camino 2012 and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

