Day 13 – Adelante, adelante!

My 13th day on the Camino marked the entry into a new universe – I officially set foot into Galicia and started the earliest ever on my trip. Even though it was a rainy day and most of the way was uphill the walk was really nice.

I set off at 5am together with Marc, Rumy and Hitomi because Rumy had to catch a bus in O Cebreiro. Her time in Spain was up and she had to return to Japan.

We didn’t miss anything while walking through the dark as most of the way after Pereje was along a mainstreet. Nothing nice to see. I tried to capture the atmosphere of walking through the night though.

Blurry, I know. But I think part of the atmosphere comes through.
We could leave the side of the street soon after Ambasmestas and from there on the Camino was quite steep. Now it was definitely the bicyclists having a harder time getting forward than we on foot. So we cheered them on when they overtook us. We had the perfect weather for walking uphill as temperatures were low and it was raining only slightly.

Some pics from the villages and landscapes we were walking through that day:

Shortly before O Cebreiro we passed the borderstone to Galicia:

We reached O Cebreiro very early on 11am. Pouring rain and loads of tourists – that wasn’t really inviting. But the scenery from our albergue and the great Pulpo at the nearby restaurant did their best to make us enjoy the place. Pulpo is octopus prepared in Galician style and absolutely my favourite dish here in Spain.
I ended the day spending hours in the internet in O Cebreiro to upload pics and actualize my blog, talking to other pilgrims in the restaurant where the computer was whenever someone else wanted to use the connection and finally with a round of Spanish pilgrims drinking wine and eating pulpo. That evening was great 😉

About Miriam

I am a traveller. Not in the fast sense. I am travelling on foot, as a pilgrim. And I love writing and playing music. Since I found back to singing and writing while walking the Way of St. James in Spain, I started mingling the two. Means I am walking with my little guitalele and playing whenever the situation seems right for it :-)
This entry was posted in Camino 2012 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 13 – Adelante, adelante!

  1. Rachel says:

    I am back online mate and still with you I am so plesaed you are doing so incredibly well. Keep up the great work and maybe next year we should walk a pilgrims route a little closer to home Perhpas St Cuthberts Way (a measly 62 miles) or the little more substantial Pilgrims Way (120 miles) absolutely nothing compared with the legendary distances you are doing (but I AM carrying more weight than you and therefore need to start with baby steps! *laughs*) Luv ya fella and keep on trucking

Leave a Reply

