Day 14 – Getting closer to the 100km mark

Waking up brusquely because of other pilgrims but seeing an absolutely magnificent sunrise in return for getting up that early. I perceived this walk from O Cebreiro to Aguiada as one of the most outstanding parts of the Camino. Not only for the sunrise but as well for the astonishingly green and lovely landscapes.

My waking up this morning was quite brusque. Another girl was packing her stuff around 5.30am and shone her light directly into my face. Grrrrml. But well, I was up and gone at 6am and enjoyed being on the way all alone. The only thing I was a bit worried about was that I might lose my way. The arrows which show you the way are very hard to see that early in the morning. As I had planned to make a long walking day of more than 30kms, it was best to set off early though.

Anyway, I didn’t take any wrong turns and was at the pass only a little later.
And I was lucky to have set off early because the sunrise that day was just absolutely fabulous! I spent at least half an hour hanging around a nice meadow with lots of dandelions, enjoying the view of the sunrise in this marvelous mountain scene and trying to get a few good shots.
I took breakfast in a nearby pilgrims’ hostel where they also have a little bar and watched a bit of the news being on the box there. Sweden had won the Eurovision Song Contest the night before. Watching that I realized how far away my world was from this world right now. We neither care about good looks nor about great performance here. What counts here is sharing a good word, a smile, maybe a bit of a walk together and we help each other out when someone needs something. We tend to focus more on our feet than on our hairdo. Because our feet still have to carry us for several hundred kilometers. The only competition existing on the Camino is about getting a bed. Some people are kind of stressed out and always in a rush. I tend to take it more relaxed though – and I always found a place to sleep!

I walked on through a very nice mountain scenery and the way led me downhill towards Triacastela.



I now left the alpine landscape and entered into a green fairytale of oak trees and green meadows seeming the way. Its raining a lot in Galicia because it is close to the Atlantic Ocean and therefore it has a lot of water.
Galicia has a Celtic heritage. Like in Ireland, Scotland, the Bretagne and Wales, parts of the celtic customs, building style, music and culture have survived and you can nearly see the fairies living in the woods here. Oaks as far as the eye can see. And the villages you are walking through on the way down like from 100 years before. The language in Galicia resembles to Portuguese though.
I walked through Triacastela and chose the route over San Xil instead of Samos.
There are so many cows around here that I almost feel at home (in Switzerland).
I walked on to Furela and reserved a bed for the first time. I had decided to stay in Aguiada, just 4.5km before Sarria and it was already past 12am. Well, after 37km of walking the news that there are no free beds and having to walk on for several kilometers would have been devastating!
I arrived in Aguiada at 4pm and found the albergue “Paloma and Leña” quickly. The stay there was really nice as it is very clean, quite modern and they have a great cooking. I ended the day taking care of my feet because I wanted to walk another 30+ kilometers the next day. Pilgrims’ advice: Always do as much as possible for your feet if you want to walk your 700kms without problems!

About Miriam

I am a traveller. Not in the fast sense. I am travelling on foot, as a pilgrim. And I love writing and playing music. Since I found back to singing and writing while walking the Way of St. James in Spain, I started mingling the two. Means I am walking with my little guitalele and playing whenever the situation seems right for it :-)
This entry was posted in Camino 2012 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 14 – Getting closer to the 100km mark

  1. Hildegard says:

    Hi Mirjam
    So beautiful pictures!
    Greets
    Mom

  2. Mariusz says:

    Hi Miya,
    We met briefly in Foncebadon where you played few of your tracks. That was an amazing experience, thank you! I have to say live version of the Dancing in the Rain is the best. Your voice and guitar is enough to create beauty around 🙂

    I finished my Camino and now waiting in London for my next flight.

    Take care and Buen Camino!
    Mariusz

    • miyamusic says:

      Hei Mariusz

      Yeah of course I remember you! 🙂
      Thanks for the nice words. This keeps me going! I am very happy that you liked my music so much and I also think its better that way round.
      Thinking of all the musicians who sound very nicely in their recording and when you actually hear them live you get scared.
      A recording is always different to a live situation.

      I will continue playing spontaneously after my Camino whenever I find an appropriate situation or when I am asked for it 🙂
      I really liked the atmosphere it created on the Camino.

      Hope you are well.
      Take care and cheers
      Miya

Leave a Reply

