Day 16 – Lazy day in Galicia

Nice landscapes but most of all the great albergue and food is what I remember best from that day, which led me from Gonzar to San Xúlian. As I had decided to walk less and just enjoy myself in this last part of the Camino this too was a rather lazy day.

I got up late in Gonzar and of course made a stop in the next village to take breakfast. I simply had decided to enjoy Galicia and not take part in the rush to find a bed. Means that starting from here I reserved myself a bed in the morning and then took the whole day to walk my 25km and get to the albergue, making many breaks and taking everything veeeeery relaxed. I was also a little too lazy to take photos. But to be honest the landscape wasn’t changing that much either. So instead of taking pics of 10 different trees looking all quite similar, I decided to just walk more slowly and making a lazy day.
So here’s the only landscape pic I took on day 16…:)
On the way towards San Xulián I came across an old man walking along the street with his cow. He was quite cool, making a joke before he moved on and I simply had to take a picture of him. Walking a cow instead of a dog – that’s cool! 🙂

As I had set off late and made many stops as well as a picnic on the way, I arrived in San Xulián in the late afternoon. But as my bed was reserved that was no problem.
The private albergue there is really nice and I really like the hospitalero. His daughter is a singer and guitarrist but unfortunately without work right now due to the economic situation in Spain. That’s really bad here. So she can perform only gratis, noone has the money to pay musicians right now.

I decided to take some photos of the surroundings and the albergue because I really liked it a lot.

And the next morning they even moved a cowherd through the village. Phototime for every pilgrim here…even the ones from Switzerland! 🙂

About Miriam

I am a traveller. Not in the fast sense. I am travelling on foot, as a pilgrim. And I love writing and playing music. Since I found back to singing and writing while walking the Way of St. James in Spain, I started mingling the two. Means I am walking with my little guitalele and playing whenever the situation seems right for it :-)
This entry was posted in Camino 2012 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

