Days 17&18 – Eucalyptus forests

As I was getting closer to Santiago, I was getting increasingly lazy. At least Galicia should be enjoyed! I therefore just give you the summary of day 17 to Ribadiso and day 18 to Amenal. The first day was just a little more than 20km of walking and the second one a little more than 30 because I wanted to only walk about 15km into Santiago the next day.

I got up as late as ever in Galicia and set off from San Xulián at around 10am. A new record! 😉
But anyway, I was in no hurry and saw it as a very important part of the Camino to also enjoy the walking in at least Galicia.

I walked through some very nice scenes that day. Actually nearly everyone in the villages seemed to have cows, sheep or horses.




I arrived in Ribadiso in the late afternoon and ended day 17 in the private albergue there, which was quite nice as well. The bar of that village was one of the worst though. They either don’t seem to need the money of the tourists or they simply are really fed up with the pilgrims.

The next morning started foggy because Ribadiso lies at the border of a river. Picture time… 🙂


That day I ran into Marc again and made a photo with him because you never know when you see the people again on the Camino. Actually I later on met him again in Santiago and then in Finisterra.

The Camino runs through many eucalyptus forests before Santiago. These trees smell really nice and they seem to grow rather fast. That is why the locals like planting them. They use their wood and oil. The trees are bad for the ecological equilibrum there though because their roots grow very deep and they need huge amounts of water. It was nice walking through these forrests though.


I stopped in Amenal that day and got a room in what seemed a really nice hostel close to the way. My feet were hurting and I was so happy to arrive! There was a penetrant smell of perfume in the room and the next morning I discovered the reason why. Bedbugs…baw…nasty insects. Only found one but they might have sprayed some chemical to kill the bugs off. Thus the heavy smell. But to be shure I don’t bring them into my flat back home I will have to put everything in either the freezer for many hours or wash the stuff above 60 degrees. That will kill them off for sure.
I am now insect proof though. I wasn’t only bitten by mosquitos and bedbugs on my Camino, in Amenal I even got a stitch from a bee! Walking along the street I suddenly noticed a pain on my arm and saw the insect flying away and swirling around Johns head very aggressively. The nice waitor at the restaurant close to the hotel then performed “surgery” with his kitchen utensils to get the needle out of my flesh. Somehow felt like a VIP and it was somehow funny 😀
Added one more adventure to my Camino 2012 that way…

About Miriam

I am a traveller. Not in the fast sense. I am travelling on foot, as a pilgrim. And I love writing and playing music. Since I found back to singing and writing while walking the Way of St. James in Spain, I started mingling the two. Means I am walking with my little guitalele and playing whenever the situation seems right for it :-)
This entry was posted in Camino 2012 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

