35 endless kilometers to Olveiroa

Oh gosh…you might think that after about 600km of walking another 35km seems like nothing. But you sometimes can be so wrong. So so wrong…

This day I wanted to walk 35km to Oliveiroa. Instead of setting off early I reserved a bed again. So it was already quite warm when I walked out of Negreira.
This time setting off late hadn’t been a wise decision. Most of the time the Camino led over asphalt and thus the feet hurt after a short while. But what came on top was that today the kilometers seemed absolutely endless. I went into a bar after what felt for me like walking 20km and discovered that I had walked only about 12km up to now. The way was very unsteady though, going uphill and downhill all the time. This might have been the reason why it had felt much longer than only 12km. The scenery was very nice though and I took many photos. I even got to photo number 1000 that day!
As we were coming closer to the coast there were many wind turbines on the hills and as a real fan of them I had to take a ton of pictures 🙂
After our visit in the bar the walk really seemed like endless. We had been so sure we’d arrive at least until 4pm but were very wrong with that guess. At our felt km 30 we had still more than 10km to go, with burning feet, growing exhaustion and the feeling that this will never end.

So we went on…
…and on…

…and on…

until I finally decided to take a rest in the middle of the road. I simply didn’t care anymore and there weren’t any cars anyway. Two women were walking by and we had a short conversation. The road seemed endless to them as well. That seems so strange after having walked more than 500km…how can it be that suddenly 35km seem so long? I had even walked longer distances before…

We continued and shortly after saw water downhill. Was this the sea? I took a shot in case it was. But soon I saw that it was only a lake.
Instead we now reached km 20 and had only about 10km more to go…
Finally a waysign to a hostel in Oliveiroa felt like a saviour, announcing that the village was only about 6km away.
And yes…I did arrive. Not at 4pm though but at around 6pm. This was definitely a new record! I was sooo exhausted and happy to have reached the albergue.

John decided to sleep outside that evening. I did nothing of that sort and simply fell into the next seat at the bar and had something to drink. Relax, yeah… 😉

About Miriam

I am a traveller. Not in the fast sense. I am travelling on foot, as a pilgrim. And I love writing and playing music. Since I found back to singing and writing while walking the Way of St. James in Spain, I started mingling the two. Means I am walking with my little guitalele and playing whenever the situation seems right for it :-)
This entry was posted in Camino 2012 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

