Finally alone…


The really nice thing after walking out of Santiago is actually that there are many less folks on the road than before. All the 100km pilgrims don’t continue walking and therefore it’s even possible to be on the road totally alone for long amounts of time. And let me tell you: Negreira is cool!

Of course I set off late from Santiago the next day because I had gone to bed really late 🙂
And I really liked the walk now. There were only few pilgrims on the way and the temperature was perfect for walking. It was raining only slightly and a breeze was blowing for most of the day.

When you come out of Santiago you first have to climb a little hill and from there have a last view on the city. Nice…
When you walk to Fisterra you don’t have as many possibilities in how far you walk as before. There are less albergues and bars on the way here. So I decided to walk the 23km to Negreira on the first day and then to walk 30+ kilometer the other two days. You can either walk the 93km in three or four days. I wanted to do them in 3 days so I could continue to Muxia.

I reserved a bed in the private albergue San Jose and let myself a lot of time to walk there. It was really worth it as the landscape and villages were quite nice.
The albergue was very nice as well. Clean, nice hospitalera and very modern. Negreira has the potential to become one of my favourite cities in Spain. Not because its very nice in terms of buildings but because of its people. They were so nice!

On a stroll through the city I came across a local dance competition. Of course I hadn’t taken my camera with me and therefore had to return to the albergue to grab it. But when I came back they were already naming the winners.
I could still take a few nice shots though. Felt myself like a paparazzi walking around that scuare and mainly haunting a cute little girl. Wasn’t successful in getting a good shot of her because she was moving a lot but got some others instead.
The evening ended in what seemed one of the nicest restaurants in the city. Had another variation of pulpo and a huuuuuge salad. Both very good. Well as you already know pilgrimage is walking, eating and sleeping. And in between taking some nice photos and singing. So that day was already over after I returned from the restaurant 😉

About Miriam

I am a traveller. Not in the fast sense. I am travelling on foot, as a pilgrim. And I love writing and playing music. Since I found back to singing and writing while walking the Way of St. James in Spain, I started mingling the two. Means I am walking with my little guitalele and playing whenever the situation seems right for it :-)
This entry was posted in Camino 2012 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

