Heaven meeting earth

My highlight on the way from Einsiedeln to Brunnen was definitely a phenomenon you don’t get to see on a daily basis. The weather forecast had predicted rain and possibly even thunderstorms. But nothing of that sort arrived. I was enjoying a sunny day for most of the walk. With one exception: Close to Haggenegg a clowd reached down from the sky and wrapped everything withing a short distance in deep mist. It looked great!

The first thing I did on my walk out of Einsiedeln was losing my way. Yes, I managed to…just in front of the monastery there are several way signs which don’t indicate to which destination they are pointing. So I chose the one I guessed must be right and walked all across the monastery with its huge and nice horse stables, which by the way must be a paradise for every horse lover. Of course then I found out I was wrong there and had to walk all the way back again into a totally different direction. At least I hadn’t walked for kilometers before discovering I was on the wrong way! So if you’re standing in front of the monastery, turn to the right until you reach a little path and then walk along it to your right. There you find the sign for the Way of St. James again after several hundred meters…

Once you passed the outskirts of Einsiedeln you have a nice view on the Mythen – a very characteristic mountain dominating the scenery on the way from Einsiedeln to Brunnen. The Way is very even at first. You pass by a monastery just outside of Einsiedeln and then come across a picturesque farm named “Rossmatt Ranch”. An old couple was walking in front of me for most of that time. But I didn’t manage to take a good photo of them holding hands while walking. It would have been a very sweet picture! But I guess the outcome is not that bad either…




After a few miles you have to turn left until you reach a little stream and walk along it to your right enjoying the view of the Mythen for most of the time. Then a street is leading on for another mile or two until you get to a crossing and change to a concrete path again. This finally leads you to Alpthal, a nice little village surrounded by mountains.



From here the way leads on evenly for another mile or so until you have to turn right, facing the very steep uphill walk towards Haggenegg.




After about 900m of altitude difference, you reach the top close to Haggenegg. This is where I walked into a very nice phenomenon: A cloud reaching down to the slope, threatening to wrap a little closeby hut into deep mist. I was in awe from that really cool sight! It’s actually just from walking out in nature that I am encountering so many fascinating scenes and situations!


Of course the Way led me directly into the clowd…and there it became a little difficult to actually see where I was heading to. So I deceided to take a lunch break at a nearby restaurant and inquired about the weather situation. Was the weather really turning? Would it be safe to walk on from here or was there any danger of thunderstorms whatsoever? The local farmer asserted me that walking to Schwyz would be no problem at all. And it definitely wasn’t.

So I enjoyed a very nice view on Lake Lucerne and Lake Lauerzer after several kilometers of downhill walk. From Haggenegg to Schwyz there’s an altitude difference of about 1000 meters. So take care of you’re knees if you are planning to walk the Way of St. James in Switzerland.



Just before Schwyz I spotted a nice tree and a padded elk in a house on the side of the road. I actually found the latter scene very funny. I guess the owner of that house must be an elk lover!



And then I had reached Schwyz. That town is soooo small! But it has a few very nice houses.


I actually liked the walk from Schwyz to Ingenbohl the most that day. The landscape is very picturesque and I felt like stopping every few meters to take another picture. I’ll just leave you with some of those as I haven’t yet taken any photos in Brunnen. Enjoy!




About Miriam

I am a traveller. Not in the fast sense. I am travelling on foot, as a pilgrim. And I love writing and playing music. Since I found back to singing and writing while walking the Way of St. James in Spain, I started mingling the two. Means I am walking with my little guitalele and playing whenever the situation seems right for it :-)
This entry was posted in Switzerland. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

