Walking on Swiss National Day

All the houses decorated for Swiss National Day. Lots of sun. And as a plus Lake Brienz to the left the whole day long. The decision to continue my walk on the 1st of August proved to be a good one!

As it already takes me around 2.5 hours to get to my starting point by train, I started walking quite late that day. I reached Brienz around 10.30am and directly set off in the direction of Interlaken.

Brienz is a lovely little town with many traditional houses on the shore of Lake Brienz. It was even more lovely that day because people followed the custom to decorate their houses with Swiss flags and laterns on the National Day. It is not the right place if you are after partying or anything of the sort. But if you like traditional houses and the lakeside as well as the possibility for great hiking, then this is your place. I decided to take some photos before walking out of the town to give you an impression of it.




What follows between Brienz and Oberried is a marvellous walk through picturesque landscapes with a turquoise Lake Brienz on your left. I didn’t perceive the up and down walks as very strenuous here and was able to fully enjoy the surroundings. One of the highlights of the day was the walk over a suspension bridge. And I also came across a waysign prohibitting passage to donkeys. At least the animal on the sign looked like a donkey to me, and I found that quite funny. But I guess I still wouldn’t try taking a horse through there 😉






I took a short lunch break in Oberried and then followed the Way of St. James down to the shore. It runs right along the lake for a few kilometers before turning back into the mountains again.

This doesn’t make the walk less nice on that part of the way though. You simply exchange the feeling of having the water right beside you with a great panoramic view over the lake for most of the way between Niederried and Ringgenberg.


The way then leads you through some of the nicest streets of Ringgenberg. The church there was built on the ruins of an ancient castle, and I liked the fact that this is still visible.

After Ringgenberg the Way of St. James leads back to the shore of Lake Brienz. As it leads through a forest the walk through here is great, most of all during hot temperatures. I liked it a lot, although there are more people on the way as it is close to the tourist destination of Interlaken.

Given the hot temperatures of the day, there definitely were lots of people on the way. I tried to take a good shot of a lizard just shortly before Interlaken, as one spot was bustling with them. And I had a hard time! But as you know pilgrims learn to be patient, so in the end I got one. Ha! 🙂


Happy with my photo, I walked on into Interlaken East. There are two parts of the town. The eastern and the western part. The first one is as it seems mainly the station with lots of surrounding restaurants and hotels. This is due to the fact that the train to Grindelwald and therefore the only connection to the fameous mountains “Jungfrau”, “Eiger” and “Mönch” departs from there. Loads of tourists from allover the world are coming through Interlaken East when travelling in Switzerland. Therefore the place seems quite multicultural.

The other part is Interlaken West with the actual old town. I didn’t walk into that part though, as I went right on the train back home. But I’ll write down my experiences from the way from there to Thun in the next post. Enjoy!

About Miriam

I am a traveller. Not in the fast sense. I am travelling on foot, as a pilgrim. And I love writing and playing music. Since I found back to singing and writing while walking the Way of St. James in Spain, I started mingling the two. Means I am walking with my little guitalele and playing whenever the situation seems right for it :-)
This entry was posted in Switzerland. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

