Open your eyes

Today I had a recording session and finished one of the first songs I had ever written. It is called “Open your Eyes”, and I actually already had the basic idea for it in 2003. But it was one of the songs I had on the back of my mind whenever I was songwriting for years and years and years…and even though I had completed lyrics and melody of the verses in 2005, it took me another 6 years until I finally had the one fitting idea for the chorus. Originally a song in 6/8 beat, I changed it to 5/8 in 2012. Et voilà – it is finally finished!

I post this song here because I think it fits into the topics of this blog fairly well. It is about the importance to stop thinking about problems and start seeing the world the way children do: as a huge mystery, full of adventure and beauty.

I hope you enjoy listening to it! 🙂

About Miriam

I am a traveller. Not in the fast sense. I am travelling on foot, as a pilgrim. And I love writing and playing music. Since I found back to singing and writing while walking the Way of St. James in Spain, I started mingling the two. Means I am walking with my little guitalele and playing whenever the situation seems right for it :-)
This entry was posted in Music, My Music and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Open your eyes

  1. Miya, where do I begin? This song is so wonderfully crafted, orchestrated, arranged, mixed, and sung. I love it – down to the unusual time signature. Your music is beauty.

Leave a Reply

